This is a past event.
Add to calendar

For members of the class of 1970.

Peggy Orenstein’s subversive recent book, Unraveling, will be the focus of our next class book discussion on May 17th.  Orenstein generally did in-depth research for her previous books, which include Cinderella Ate My Daughter, Girls and Sex, Boys and Sex, and Don't Call Me Princess.  Her TED talk is a hair-raising examination of contemporary sexual attitudes among teenage girls.

So when the pandemic hit, Orenstein, the consummate researcher, was suddenly stuck at home.  Unraveling, on the surface, seems to be about her journey to understand and experience everything about the craft of knitting.  But actually it is about trying to understand and come to grips with everything about the craft of living, making it through the pandemic, adjusting to the inevitable changes life delivers as we age.  Our discussion will follow her journeys and honor our own.  Let's share how we survived the pandemic and how we are readjusting to the new normal.  It is okay to knit during our discussion, but it is also okay NOT to knit.

Note starting time change: 8pm ET, 7pm CT, 6pm MT, 5pm PT

To join, please refer to your email invitation or email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu.

This event is being held in Eastern Standard Time.  To check the event time in your timezone, a conversion tool is available by clicking here.   timeanddate.com: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

Event Details

0 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity