Fighting Climate Change with Regenerative Agriculture

We often hear that livestock are a major contributor to greenhouse gas emissions, yet pastured-based regenerative agriculture systems are sequestering carbon, eliminating runoff and erosion, and providing habitat for pollinators and wildlife. How does carbon sequestration work and what’s the science behind promising new research into how our soils can fight climate change? In this Alumnae Association webinar, join regenerative farmer Hannah Bernhardt '04 and food policy specialist Ariel Kagan '11 for a discussion of the principles of soil health, the fragile state of our food system, and proposed federal policies that could change the face of agriculture toward environmental regeneration, ethical eating, and food justice. Please click here to read more about our presenters. 

This event is being conducted over Zoom. As the host, Mount Holyoke College reserves the right to record this session and the event sponsors will give prior notification to event participants of any intention to do so. The recording feature for others is disabled so that no one else will be able to record this session through Zoom. At all times, no recording by any other means is permitted without prior written permission from the event sponsor or as an approved accommodation. 

You will receive an email confirmation upon registration for this event. If you do not receive the confirmation or have any questions about the event, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu.

Event time is EDT.  Converted Event Times: San Francisco 8:30amPDT (UTC -7), Boston 11:30amEDT (UTC -4), Accra 3:30pmGMT (UTC +0), Central European Summer Time 5:30pmCEST (UTC +2), Nairobi 6:30pmEAT (UTC +3), New Delhi 9:00pmIST (UTC +5:30), Beijing 11:30pmCST (UTC +8)

Dial-In Information

Advance registration required.

Thursday, April 22 at 11:30am to 12:30pm

Virtual Event
Event Type

Lectures & Presentations

Event Topic

Academic, STEM, Sustainability, Leadership, Social Justice, Cross-disciplinary

Event Audience

Students, Faculty, Alums, Staff, Graduate Students

Tags

Earth Week

Acessibility inquiries

This event will include an oral and visual presentation about regenerative agriculture, followed by Question and Answer time with event presenters; polls may be included in the presentation. For inquiries about the accessibility of this event or to request any accommodations, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu or call 413-538-2159. Please make accommodation requests no later than Thursday, April 15, 2020 to allow for implementation time; however, in all situations, a good faith effort will be made to provide accommodations up until the time of the event.

Add to my calendar
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.