Lunar New Year Celebration

This is a past event.

Whether you are in Beijing, Hanoi, New York, Paris, Seoul or anywhere else in the world, put on your festive attire and join Mount Holyoke alums and students on February 24 for a unique and extraordinary celebration of the Lunar New Year. Celebrated by more than 1.5 billion people around the world and in different forms in many Asian countries, the Lunar New Year is a traditional time for families and friends to get together, welcome the New Year and wish each other health and happiness.

During this unique virtual event President Sonya Stephens will join the fun and engage with participants in small informal breakout sessions, while Bingyao Liu '19 will play Yangqin music and Xueji (Elfie) Wang '20 will perform sand painting.

Food also plays an important role in the Lunar New Year celebrations and while our feast will be virtual, the flavors and colors that belong to this festivity can still play a role in our joint celebration! A special alum and student cookbook dedicated to festive recipes from all over the world is in the making, so make sure you submit your recipes and memories here.  

Do not miss this fabulous opportunity to share your culinary heritage, spend time with your Mount Holyoke global family and friends and to herald the Year of the Ox in good company!  

New Year celebration on Wednesday, February 24

-       U.S. Pacific/Los Angeles/San Francisco: 5–6:15 a.m.

-       U.S. Eastern/Boston/New York: 8–9:15 a.m.

-       GMT/United Kingdom/Ghana: 1-2:15 p.m.

-       CET/France/Germany/Netherlands: 2-3:15 p.m.

-       Kenya/Saudi Arabia/Turkey: 4–5:15 p.m.

-       Pakistan: 6–7:15 p.m.

-       India: 6:30-7:45 p.m.

-       Indonesia/Thailand/Vietnam: 8–9:15 p.m.

-       China/Malaysia/Singapore: 9-10:15 p.m.

-       Japan/South Korea: 10–11:15 p.m.       

-      AEDT/Melbourne/Sydney: February 25, 12-1:15 a.m.

Click here for additional time zone conversions. 

You will receive an email confirmation upon registration for this event. If you do not receive the confirmation or have any questions about the event, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu.

This event will be recorded. This event is being conducted over Zoom. As the host, Mount Holyoke College reserves the right to record this session and the event sponsors will give prior notification to event participants of any intention to do so. The recording feature for others is disabled so that no one else will be able to record this session through Zoom. At all times, no recording by any other means is permitted without prior written permission from the event sponsor or as an approved accommodation.

Dial-In Information

Advance registration required.

Wednesday, February 24 at 8:00am to 9:00am

Virtual Event
Event Type

Gatherings & Meetings

Event Topic

Diversity & Inclusion, Global

Event Audience

Faculty, Alums, Staff

Group
Alumnae Association
Acessibility inquiries

This event will include an oral presentation followed by breakout room participation. For inquiries about the accessibility of this event or to request any accommodations, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu. Please make accommodation requests no later than February 15, 2021 to allow for implementation time; however, in all situations, a good faith effort will be made to provide accommodations up until the time of the event.

Add to my calendar
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.