Personal Finances: Debt

Over the month of March, the Alumnae Association offers a four-part finance series led by returning presenter Marilyn Bruno ’69 JD, Ph.D. Each week a different topic will be discussed. Join for one or all on the following subjects: Investments, Savings, Retirement and Debt. On Wednesday, March 24, 2021:

Debt

  • Bad (credit card)
  • Good (mortage) - investing in real estate
  • Restructuring, refinancing 
  • Investing in yourself

Marilyn Bruno JD, Ph.D. graduated from MHC in 1969 as a Spanish major and went on to become a widely respected expert in finance. Her ranging experience includes serving as a Clerk in the U.S. Court of International Trade, an Economic Officer in the U.S. Foreign Service, and a stockbroker for nearly a decade. Marilyn loves to educate on personal finance and has done so at the college level, as a TV and call-in show host, by publishing an online personal finance newsletter from 2008-2017, and by developing "Transition" seminars for the State Department and retirees of other U.S. agencies, including courses on personal financial and estate planning, investments 101, etc. Since 2008 to the present, she serves as CEO of her daughter's (MHC '01) biotech company, Aequor, Inc.

The event will be recorded. This event is being conducted over Zoom. As the host, Mount Holyoke College reserves the right to record this session and the event sponsors will give prior notification to event participants of any intention to do so. The recording feature for others is disabled so that no one else will be able to record this session through Zoom. At all times, no recording by any other means is permitted without prior written permission from the event sponsor or as an approved accommodation. 

This event will include an oral and visual presentation about personal finances, focused on retirement planning, followed by Question and Answer time with the event presenter; polls may be included in the presentation. For inquiries about the accessibility of this event or to request any accommodations, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu or call 413-538-2159. Please make accommodation requests no later than Wednesday, March 10, 2020 to allow for implementation time; however, in all situations, a good faith effort will be made to provide accommodations up until the time of the event.

Event Times: San Francisco 8:30amPDT (UTC -7), Boston 11:30amEDT (UTC -4), Accra 3:30pmGMT (UTC +0), Central European Time 4:30pmCET (UTC +1), Nairobi 6:30pmEAT (UTC +3), New Delhi 9:00pmIST (UTC +5:30), Beijing 11:30pmCST (UTC +8)

You will receive an email confirmation upon registration for this event. If you do not receive the confirmation or have any questions about the event, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu.

Dial-In Information

Advance registration required.

Wednesday, March 24 at 11:30am to 12:30pm

Virtual Event
Event Type

Lectures & Presentations

Event Topic

Health & Wellness

Event Audience

Students, Faculty, Alums, Staff

Group
Alumnae Association
Acessibility inquiries

programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu

Add to my calendar
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.