Stress, Hormones and Immunity

This event has been moved from April 15, 2021. 

In this Alumnae Association webinar, Dr. Julia Ward '90 discusses health and immunity, and shares considerations for wellness based on her more than two decades of medical experience. She touches upon the state of the American healthcare system -- issues and alternative options. 

Dr. Ward is a champion for the healthcare of busy, stressed out moms. Her own issues with hormone imbalance and chronic fatigue spurred her to complete a study of functional medicine. This is a more holistic way of approaching health that looks for the root causes of symptoms rather than just treating a diagnosis with a prescription. As a working mom with five kids, she knows what it feels like to be overwhelmed with fatigue, stress and other changes that happen with age. Dr. Ward has been able to bring balance to her own health as well as to those of hundreds of her patients. She completed her fellowship with the Metabolic Medicine Institute (also known as A4M) and continues to study with the Institute for Functional Medicine, the International Peptide Society, and a variety of other organizations and functional labs. She graduated medical school from the University of Southern California and has been practicing medicine for over twenty-five years.

The event will be recorded. This event is being conducted over Zoom. As the host, Mount Holyoke College reserves the right to record this session and the event sponsors will give prior notification to event participants of any intention to do so. The recording feature for others is disabled so that no one else will be able to record this session through Zoom. At all times, no recording by any other means is permitted without prior written permission from the event sponsor or as an approved accommodation. 

Event time is in EDT. 

Converted Times: San Francisco 1:30pmPDT (UTC -7), Boston 4:30pmEDT (UTC -4), Accra 8:30pmGMT (UTC +0), Central European Summer Time 10:30pmCEST (UTC +2), Nairobi 11:30pmEAT (UTC +3), New Delhi 2:00amIST on April 16 (UTC +5:30), Beijing 4:30amCST on April 16 (UTC +8)

You will receive an email confirmation upon registration for this event. If you do not receive the confirmation or have any questions about the event, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu.

Dial-In Information

Advance registration requested.

Thursday, May 6 at 4:30pm

Virtual Event
Event Type

Lectures & Presentations

Event Topic

Health & Wellness

Event Audience

Faculty, Alums, Staff

Group
Alumnae Association
Acessibility inquiries

This event will include an oral and visual presentation about healthcare and wellness, followed by Question and Answer time with event presenters. For inquiries about the accessibility of this event or to request any accommodations, please email programs_team-g@mtholyoke.edu or call 413-538-2159. Please make accommodation requests no later than Thursday, April 1, 2021 to allow for implementation time; however, in all situations, a good faith effort will be made to provide accommodations up until the time of the event.

Add to my calendar
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.