Jewish Community Events

Today

First Day of Shavuot

Wed, Jun 12, 2024

(Feast of Weeks) Shavuot marks the conclusion of the seven weeks following Passover. It is a celebration of the harvest of first fruits and commemorates the giving of the Torah and Commandments at...

Thursday, June 13

Second (Last) Day of Shavuot

Thu, Jun 13, 2024

(Feast of Weeks) Shavuot marks the conclusion of the seven weeks following Passover. It is a celebration of the harvest of first fruits and commemorates the giving of the Torah and Commandments at...

Monday, August 12

Eve of Tisha B'Av

Mon, Aug 12, 2024

Observance begins at sundown. Tisha B'Av, the Ninth day of the month of Av, is a major fast day commemorating the destruction of the First and Second Temples in Jerusalem in ancient times.

Tuesday, August 13

Tisha B'Av

Tue, Aug 13, 2024

Tisha B'Av, the Ninth day of the month of Av, is a major fast day commemorating the destruction of the First and Second Temples in Jerusalem in ancient times.

Wednesday, October 2

Eve of Rosh Hashanah

Wed, Oct 2, 2024

Observance begins at sundown. The Jewish New Year and the anniversary of the creation of the world, Rosh Hashanah is the first of the Ten Days of Awe (also known as the Ten Days of Repentance) that...

Thursday, October 3

Rosh Hashanah

Thu, Oct 3, 2024

The Jewish New Year and the anniversary of the creation of the world, Rosh Hashanah is the first of the Ten Days of Awe (also known as the Ten Days of Repentance) that conclude on Yom Kippur. It...

Friday, October 4

Rosh Hashanah

Fri, Oct 4, 2024

The Jewish New Year and the anniversary of the creation of the world, Rosh Hashanah is the first of the Ten Days of Awe (also known as the Ten Days of Repentance) that conclude on Yom Kippur. It...

Friday, October 11

Eve of Yom Kippur

Fri, Oct 11, 2024

(Day of Atonement) Observance begins at sundown. The conclusion of the 10 Days of Awe, Yom Kippur is the holiest and most solemn of all days in the the Jewish year. It is characterized by...

Saturday, October 12

Yom Kippur

Sat, Oct 12, 2024

(Day of Atonement) The conclusion of the 10 Days of Awe, Yom Kippur is the holiest and most solemn of all days in the the Jewish year. It is characterized by repentance, fasting, and forgiveness.

Wednesday, October 16

Eve of Sukkot

Wed, Oct 16, 2024

(Feast of Booths) Observance begins at sundown. An eight-day Jewish festival of booths (or tabernacles) and the fall harvest. The name refers to the booths (sukkot) used by Israelites during desert...

Thursday, October 17

First Day of Sukkot

Thu, Oct 17, 2024

(Feast of Booths) An eight-day Jewish festival of booths (or tabernacles) and the fall harvest. The name refers to the booths (sukkot) used by Israelites during desert wanderings and conscructed in...

Friday, October 18

Second Day of Sukkot

Fri, Oct 18, 2024

(Feast of Booths) An eight-day Jewish festival of booths (or tabernacles) and the fall harvest. The name refers to the booths (sukkot) used by Israelites during desert wanderings and conscructed in...

Wednesday, October 23

Last Day of Sukkot

Wed, Oct 23, 2024

(Feast of Booths) An eight-day Jewish festival of booths (or tabernacles) and the fall harvest. The name refers to the booths (sukkot) used by Israelites during desert wanderings and conscructed in...

Thursday, October 24

Eve of Simcḥat Torah

Thu, Oct 24, 2024

Observance begins at sundown. Simcḥat Torah (Rejoicing of the Law) is the beginning of the synagogue's annual Torah reading cycle. Reform Jews celebrate it along with Shemini Atzeret.

Shmini Atzeret

Thu, Oct 24, 2024

Shmini Atzeret (the Eighth Day of Assembly) is a separate holiday concluding Sukkot and the entire fall holiday season. It marks the beginning of winter in the land of Israel.

Friday, October 25

Simcḥat Torah

Fri, Oct 25, 2024

Simcḥat Torah (Rejoicing of the Law) is the beginning of the synagogue's annual Torah reading cycle. Reform Jews celebrate it along with Shemini Atzeret.

Wednesday, December 25

Eve of Ḥanukkah

Wed, Dec 25, 2024

Observance begins at sundown. The Feast of Lights (Feast of Dedication) is celebrated for eight days to commemorate the rededication of the Temple following the Jews' victory over occupying forces...

Thursday, December 26

First Day of Ḥanukkah

Thu, Dec 26, 2024

The Feast of Lights (Feast of Dedication) is celebrated for eight days to commemorate the rededication of the Temple following the Jews' victory over occupying forces in 165 B.C.E., which...

Friday, December 27

Ḥanukkah

Fri, Dec 27, 2024

The Feast of Lights (Feast of Dedication) is celebrated for eight days to commemorate the rededication of the Temple following the Jews' victory over occupying forces in 165 B.C.E., which...

Saturday, December 28

Ḥanukkah

Sat, Dec 28, 2024

The Feast of Lights (Feast of Dedication) is celebrated for eight days to commemorate the rededication of the Temple following the Jews' victory over occupying forces in 165 B.C.E., which...

1
2