Protestant Community Events

Sunday, November 27

Advent begins (Christmas Fast: E - New Calendar)

Sun, Nov 27, 2022

The Christmas Fast is the 40 day period before Christmas, ending on Christmas Eve. The New Calendar locates Christmas on December 25, the Old Calendar on January 7. (Eastern Churches)

Sunday, December 25

Christmas Day

Sun, Dec 25, 2022

Christmas celebrates the anniversary of the birth of Jesus. Christmas is given more importance in Western Christianity than in Eastern. College offices are closed. Accommodation may be required...

Friday, January 6

Epiphany (W)

Fri, Jan 6, 2023

Known as the Feast of Theophany (appearance of God) in Orthodox churches, the Feast of Epiphany (appearance or manifestation) comes 12 days after Christmas and closes the Christmas season with a...

Tuesday, February 21

Shrove Tuesday (W)

Tue, Feb 21, 2023

Shrove Tuesday occurs the day before Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent in the Roman Catholic Church. ÒShroveÒ is the past tense of the word Òshrive,Ò which means to hear a confession, assign...

Wednesday, February 22

Ash Wednesday (W)

Wed, Feb 22, 2023

The beginning of Lent, the forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Lent

Wed, Feb 22, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Thursday, February 23

Lent

Thu, Feb 23, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Friday, February 24

Lent

Fri, Feb 24, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Saturday, February 25

Lent

Sat, Feb 25, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Sunday, February 26

Lent

Sun, Feb 26, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Monday, February 27

Lent

Mon, Feb 27, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Tuesday, February 28

Lent

Tue, Feb 28, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Wednesday, March 1

Lent

Wed, Mar 1, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Thursday, March 2

Lent

Thu, Mar 2, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Friday, March 3

Lent

Fri, Mar 3, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Saturday, March 4

Lent

Sat, Mar 4, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Sunday, March 5

Lent

Sun, Mar 5, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Monday, March 6

Lent

Mon, Mar 6, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Tuesday, March 7

Lent

Tue, Mar 7, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Wednesday, March 8

Lent

Wed, Mar 8, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).

Thursday, March 9

Lent

Thu, Mar 9, 2023

The forty-day period (excluding Sundays) of prayer, repentance and self-denial that precedes Easter. (Western Churches).