Roberto Mugnani's Plans

Wednesday, October 5

Wearable Tech w/ the Fimbel Lab

Wed, Oct 5, 2022 5pm to 8pm

Register to join us for our first monthly Stitching Circle! Feel free to stop by with your portable handwork of choice - like costumes, quilting, knitting, etc. This month we will introduce the...

Community Center, Blanchard 318

free

Friday, October 7

Intro to R

Fri, Oct 7, 2022 10am to 12pm

Do you need to process and interpret large amounts of data? Learn how to get that data into R, conduct simple calculations on it, and write functions so that the computer can do the repetitive...

Williston Library, 619 LITS training lab

Free

Fimbel Lab Orientation Tour

Fri, Oct 7, 2022 4pm to 5pm

Interested in learning more about the Fimbel Maker and Innovation Lab but don't know where to start? Then sign up to attend an orientation of the space! During orientation, we will give you a tour...

Fimbel Maker & Innovation Lab, General Workspace (#39)

Free

Wednesday, October 12

3D Printing Halloween edition: MonsterMesh

Wed, Oct 12, 2022 7pm to 9pm

During this workshop, you will learn the basics behind 3D modeling with Meshmixer. Design your own remixed monster creations and bring them to life with the Fimbel Lab 3D printers! Registration...

Fimbel Maker & Innovation Lab, General Workspace (#39)

free

Friday, October 14

Cleaning up Datasets

Fri, Oct 14, 2022 10am to 12pm

You’ve got a dataset! In order to use it effectively in tools like R, Python, SPSS, or Stata, you’ll want to clean, format, and organize that dataset — especially if you have inconsistent or...

Williston Library, 619 LITS training lab

free

Wednesday, October 19

Pumpkins and Powertools

Wed, Oct 19, 2022 7pm to 9pm

Ever wanted to learn how to carve a pumpkin using power tools? Have some Halloween fun and learn power tool safety to prepare yourself to make your coolest jack-o-lantern yet! Please register.

Fimbel Maker & Innovation Lab, General Workspace (#39)

free

Friday, October 21

Building Web Sites With Wordpress

Fri, Oct 21, 2022 10am to 12pm

There are many reasons to build yourself a web site! It can serve as an academic portfolio, a study abroad journal, a space for a personal project, or a means of exhibiting a multimedia...

Williston Library, 619 LITS training lab

free

Tuesday, October 25

Study Abroad 101

Tue, Oct 25, 2022 12:30pm to 1pm

Are you considering study abroad? Join this information session for an introduction to the study abroad process. We will cover the benefits of study abroad, academic planning, approved programs,...

Cleveland Hall, L-1

Wednesday, October 26

Virtual Reality Open Hours

Wed, Oct 26, 2022 4pm to 6pm

Curious about Virtual Reality? Take a study break with the Oculus Rift! Stop by the Virtual Reality Open Hours on the last Wednesday of the month, between 4–6 pm in Library 418. You can travel the...

Williston Library, Library 418

Laser Cutter Halloween edition: Pumpkins

Wed, Oct 26, 2022 7pm to 9pm

Come create a one-of-a-kind laser-cut pumpkin! Learn Adobe Illustrator to create your unique design and engrave it onto a pumpkin. Registration for this event is in-person at Fimbel Lab and will...

Fimbel Maker & Innovation Lab

Friday, October 28

Stop-Motion Animation

Fri, Oct 28, 2022 10am to 12pm

Learn to animate! This introductory workshop will teach you the technologies and best practices behind analog 2D stop-motion animation, using found materials. Collaborate with other workshop...

Dwight Hall, MEWS Teaching Lab

free